HomeAdvertisementsDA-NorMin honors Young Farmers Challenge Fund provincial winners

DA-NorMin honors Young Farmers Challenge Fund provincial winners

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – Some 41 individuals and 10 groups across Northern Mindanao were recognized during the Young Farmers Challenge Fund (YFCF) Provincial Awarding on August 31, 2022, held here in this city.

Organized by the Department of Agriculture – Northern Mindanao (DA-10) through its Agribusiness and Marketing Assistance Division (AMAD), the event honored the youth in the region engaged in agri-fishery enterprises with profitability potential, with DA-10 Regional Technical Director for Operations Carlota S. Madriaga taking the lead, in the presence of Raul Alamban representing Senator Imee Marcos.

In his remarks, Larry E. Paraluman, AMAD chief of DA-10 said, “This year’s challenge is the second year of undertaking as we continue to entice our youth to participate in the challenge [YFCF]. Challenge, in the sense, that you [winners] will become the incoming and future entrepreneurs in the agriculture.”

The agribiz chief added that the YFC program is stemmed from the fact that the average age of Filipino farmers [as of 2018] is 57 years old and majority of the youth are no longer interested in agriculture.

To address such, Paraluman remarked that the [YFCF] ushers our youth [the awardees] who has interest in agriculture to have a start-up capital in the form of a competitive financial grant assistance from DA, wherein P50K is accorded to an individually managed enterprise or P100K for a group-managed enterprise at the provincial competition level.

Of which, interested and eligible youth ages 18 to 30 years old, have submitted their business model canvasses, activity and financial plans, and other documentary requirements, and were evaluated by a panel of judges based on their entrepreneurial attributes, innovativeness and potential for generating revenue stream of their presented business proposal, value addition, and social responsibility.

On top of the access of start-up capital, DA-10 RTD Madriaga assured the youth that the department will continue to pool resources and opportunities that would enable them to engage in agri-fishery enterprises on a sustained basis by providing agri-fishery business development services to further strengthen their agri-entrepreneurship capabilities.

“This is just the beginning of your journey in your agripreneurship. If you do well in your chosen agri-fishery enterprises, more government support awaits. Show us!” the DA official expressed.

Through the YFC program, DA is also set in extending business development services assistance, which includes training programs and assistance in business and product registration and certification, mentoring assistance, market linking and business networking, and monitoring and enterprise assessment.

DA-Agricultural Training Institute shall be tapped for the conduct of training activities, while DA-Agricultural Credit Policy Council shall handle the additional capital requirements of the youth for scaling up their ventures.

Rendering her message to the youth in attendance via a short video clip, DA Assistant Secretary Kristine Y. Evangelista conveyed her gratitude for all the people [DA-AMAD, local government units, private sector representatives, and the academe] behind the selection of the YFCF winners at the same time congratulated the new batch of awardees.

“DA believes in investing in the youth, investing in farming, investing in the future. Nasa kamay ng kabataan ang kinabukasan ng agikultura,” the agri official concluded.

Out from the pool of provincial awardees, they will continue to vie for the seven spots as regional awardees: four enterprise awardees for the agri-fishery production category and one awardee per each of the categories – processing, digital agriculture, and supply chain business solutions, and will be granted with P150K per awardee, while P300K is at stake once declared as one of the 12 national awardees.

Below is a complete list of the YFCF provincial awardees with their corresponding agri- enterprises by province:


  1. Sherwin G. Sintaon – Win’z Native Chili Oil;
  2. Johnny Rey G. Salinana – Suka Bahalinana Coconut Vinegar Production;
  3. Maechel B. Daug, Von L. Andaleon and Vanessa C. Maquiso – VVM’s House of Mushroom;
  4. Zyra Shine D. Gamino – Rabbit Production;
  5. Shane A. Bañados – Bañados Tablea;
  6. Joselito P. Llesis – Adlai Enterprise;
  7. Rinalyn L. Tahil – Riyal Mushroom House;
  8. Christian John C. Fernandez – Tilapia Para sa Masa;
  9. Twinkle T. Antasoda – Antasoda’s Cassava Special;
  10. Nikki Jace B. Mondia – Ganddz Freshwater Fish Farm;
  11. Erwin M. Dahao – Spice Farm;
  12. Judy Ann P. Egay – Adlai Rice Production;
  13. Rey Mark U. Anggoy – Stable Adlai Production for Value Added Products (Grains/Grits);
  14. Alvin G. Gutierrez – A-One Oyster Mushroom Production and Enterprise;
  15. Xyrish Eve E. Fernandez – Fernera Organica;
  16. Darwen D. Basarte – Basarte’s Fresh Tilapia and Homemade Tilanggit;
  17. Ariel K. Benzon and Liezel E. Lllausas – Bantuan Ube Products;
  18. Aiza A. Cabangbang and Angelou G. Daano – A & A Rabbitry;
  19. Michael Ryan G. Gante – Pido Sayote Farm;
  20. Ira Kristel M. Onahon – Bukidnon Diversified Vineyard;
  21. Revie M. Limocon – Procaffeinated Coffee Processing;
  22. Steve C. Cutillas – Gik’s Integrated Organic Mushroom and Aeroponics Production;

Misamis Occidental

  1. Aljane Mary G. Udal – Am’s Sustainable Sunrice and Silver Production;
  2. Romel B. Omega – Swine Fattening Production;
  3. Vergil S. Capoy – Vergil’s Fresh Lettuce;
  4. Ricardo B. Apale – Sweet Corn Production;
  5. Ronald Harayo and Rhemar S. Bago – Bitter Gourd Production;
  6. Johnley Fred U. Sumaylo and Kathyrine G. Gerona – Hankers Odorless Pig Farm;
  7. Dave Q. Arabes – Zampanemazing Native Chicken Production;
  8. Destre L. Dagumo – D’Garden Hydroleaf;
  9. Jelie M. Misajon – Swine Backyard Production;
  10. Arnie Marie M. Galorio – Galorio A’s Piggery;
  11. Ednier Duhaylungsod, Maria Ella Mae B. Aguhob, Hazel Mae Helido and Mike Jasper
    Ramos – Free-Range Chicken Layer Production;

Misamis Oriental

  1. Palcon Cres S. Padero – Backyard Swine Farming;
  2. Jumil C. Lascuña – JL Integrated Farm;
  3. Romejay A. Lagsic – Diversified Vegetable Production;
  4. Sean Ivander L. Bade – Seanbad’s Farm;
  5. Patrick P. Tomonglay – Pat’s Aquaponics;

Cagayan de Oro City

  1. Ian King March P. Miyake – Production of Organic Concoction and Extracts;
  2. Kathleen Claire G. Patimo, Ezekiel L. Gutay, Cyrill Ann A. Cabido and Dennis C. Baliguat
    – Greenovation;
  3. Jay Ryan S. Rago and Shiena Marie H. Lagura – Hydrolicious Lettuce;
  4. Stephine C. Pantilgan – SP Quality Rabbit Farm;
  5. Rollie B. Bangcoyo – Chik ni Lie;
  6. Jhongie M. Ladrada and Mars G. Muñoz – JM Production Quail Eggs;

Lanao del Norte

  1. Mohammad Khalid R. Casan – Baloi Goat Farm;
  2. Roselio S. Lahoylahoy – Tilapia and Vegetable Production;
  3. Johavier M. Ayonan and Naifa R. Mutia – Free-Range Organic Native Chicken;
  4. Nasip M. Batingolo – Palapa Ami;
  5. John Vincent G. Cabrera – JVC Livestock Production;


  1. Pamela Salon – Native Chicken Production;
  2. Krysler John G. Agol – 7K Free Range Brown Egg
- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments