28 C
Cagayan de Oro
Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeThe RegionBARMMBARMM solons push for creation of dialysis units in prov'l gov't hospital

BARMM solons push for creation of dialysis units in prov’l gov’t hospital

MARAWI CITY — Bangsamoro lawmakers introduced a bill to make dialysis treatment available and free for indigent patients in all provincial government tertiary hospitals in the Bangsamoro region.

Parliament Bill No. 279, authored by Member of Parliament Dr. Hashemi Dilangalen, mandates the establishment of dialysis units in these provincial government tertiary hospitals.

Dilangalen said the proposed measure responds to the dual challenge faced by many Filipinos, namely, health issues and the financial constraints associated with availing dialysis services.

Transportation costs, especially for patients from remote rural areas, further exacerbate the financial burden.

Under the proposed measure, indigent patients will be eligible for free dialysis treatment. To qualify, patients must fulfill some requirements, including submitting an affidavit of indigency and a Certificate of Indigency from the Department of Social Welfare and Development.

Dilangalen emphasized the financial burden faced by patients with chronic kidney disease, stating that the cost of a single dialysis session ranges between P2,000 and P5,000, accumulating a substantial financial strain of P24,000 to P60,000 per session.

While acknowledging the government’s initiative in June 2022 to expand coverage for hemodialysis under the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PhilHealth), Dilangalen emphasized the need for operational and well-equipped dialysis units in provincial hospitals to meet the growing demand for dialysis services.

The proposed dialysis units must be adequately staffed and equipped with complete machines, equipment, and supplies for efficient and effective treatment.

Should the bill be passed, the required funds for implementation will be included in the General Appropriation Act of the Bangsamoro, and the BARMM’s health ministry will be responsible for enforcing the rules and regulations. 

MPs Ali Montaha Babao, Rasul Ismael, Tarhata Maglangit, and Abdulwahab Pak are co-authors of PB No. 279. (BTA Parliament/PIA-10 Lanao del Sur)


Most Popular

Recent Comments