30.8 C
Cagayan de Oro
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeFront PageBreaking NewsBARMM districting bill clinches parliament nod

BARMM districting bill clinches parliament nod

COTABATO CITY—A priority law intended to divide the territory of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) into parliamentary districts has secured final approval from the 80-seat legislative body of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA).
On Wednesday, February 28 right after the period of amendments, 47 parliament members voted in favor, one in opposition, and three abstentions. Authored by the Government of the Day, the BARMM Districting Bill will split the region into 32 respective districts.
These districts account for 40% of the 80 seats in the BTA, which complies with the provision of the Republic Act 11054 or the Bangsamoro Organic Law.
Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim, who heads the parliament, along with BTA Speaker Atty. Pangalian Balindong, immediately affixed their signatures, signifying their approval of the law indexed as Bangsamoro Autonomy Act No. 58 or “An Act for the Creation of Parliamentary Districts in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao”.
Speaker Balindong, who conveyed his sincere appreciation to the parliament, said that the law “aims to provide equal and fair representation” within the parliament.

“By creating single-member district districts, we are taking a bold step towards ensuring diverse voices and concerns of our constitutions are not only heard but also addressed with precision and fairness,” the speaker explained, citing that public consultations among the constituents were done before the approval of the law.
As one of the outcomes of the Comprehensive Agreement of the Bangsamoro (CAB) and the Republic Act 11054 or the Bangsamoro Organic Law, the Bangsamoro Government through the BTA parliament can enact vital legislation for the benefit of the BARMM region.
Chief Minister Ebrahim, who personally announced the result of the nominal voting in the chamber, thanked each member of the parliament for their effort in the formulation of legislation vital to further improve governance in the region.
“This is the result as counted: 47 voted ‘yes’, one voted no, and three abstentions. Therefore, the bill is now officially approved,” the Chief Minister said.
In her official Facebook post, Floor Leader Atty Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba said that “while the proponents acknowledge the public’s desire for extra-parliamentary district seats, they also recognize the limitations imposed by the BO.”
“Consequently, a parliament resolution will be formulated to incorporate all position papers requesting additional seats, serving as valuable references. This resolution will be submitted to Congress, the Intergovernmental Relations Body, and the Philippine Congress-Bangsamoro Parliament Forum, indicating the parliament’s acknowledgment of the public’s plea for added representation,” the official post reads. (Abdullah Matucan/BIO)


Most Popular

Recent Comments