29.4 C
Cagayan de Oro
Thursday, March 30, 2023
HomeFront PageXavier Ateneo takes lead in Oro Kalimpyo Awards 2019 search committee

Xavier Ateneo takes lead in Oro Kalimpyo Awards 2019 search committee

SEPTEMBER 9 marked the official launching of the 3rd Oro Kalimpyo Awards (OKA) led by the city government of Cagayan de Oro through its City Local Environment and Natural Resources (CLENRO).

It also marked the start of the city-wide search for the most outstanding barangays, public elementary and secondary schools in their implementation of the Republic Act 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000.

The OKA search committee members, who are field evaluators, are also the representatives from the different sectors and institutions, namely, the City Health Office (CHO), City Social Welfare and Development (CSWD) Office, Department of Education (DepEd), City Tourism, Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan, University of Science and Technology in Southern Philippines, Archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro, and other civic groups.

Xavier Ateneo with its continued commitment towards environmental protection also sends its delegates as they take the helm within the committee.

Nestor M Banuag Jr, director of XU Student Social Involvement and Advocacy Program, leads the pack as the overall chairman of the committee, while Dennise Edwina “Jinkee” S Gonzales, director of XU-NSTP, takes the post of co-chairperson in the barangay category.

This year, the search sets its sights towards highlighting the city’s initiative to promote multisectoral collaborations in the implementation of RA 9003 in all levels of society.

After a careful evaluation in the field, the search will determine and acknowledge the top barangays and schools based on the sub-categories. The prizes are as follows:

Urban and Hinterland Categories: first place (P200,000), second place (P150,000), and third place (P100,000).

For the Sub-Urban Category: first place (P250,000), second place (P200,000), and third place (P150,000).

For the Public Elementary and High School Categories: first place (P30,000), second place (P20,000), and third place  (P10,000).

The awarding of winners will take place in January 2020 for the school and barangay categories, respectively with the latter coinciding with the City Charter Day.

The committee hopes that this local network engagement of Xavier Ateneo as an institution not only serves as its response to the call of environmental preservation but also an inspiration to the students on the huge impact of social involvement.

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments