23.7 C
Cagayan de Oro
Thursday, February 2, 2023
HomeOpinionTeam OKKA adopts green, white colors; Abaday insists he is not 'balimbing'

Team OKKA adopts green, white colors; Abaday insists he is not ‘balimbing’

Is switching political parties a reality in Philippine politics or a strategy by some politicians to ensure their survival?

“I am not a political butterfly,” former city councilor and barangay captain Roger Abaday told this writer in an interview after he filed his candidacy.

Three years ago Abaday ran as vice mayoral candidate of then congressman Rufus Rodriguez after his term in the City Council ran out. Rodriguez went up and lost against incumbent Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar Moreno in the 2016 elections.

“I am a PDP-Laban and Mayor Moreno is also with PDP-Laban,” Abaday explained. He said there is a loose coalition between the PDP-Laban party and the Centrist Democratic Party. 

The Oct. 17 deadline for the filing of candidacy had a festive atmosphere as every candidate under Team OKKA wore green and white except the group of Kagawad Edna I Day Dahino who wore pink.

Abaday said he was comfortable with the color green while Councilor Zaldy Ocon said he doesn’t mind wearing any color, saying his color is “public service.”

Former Provincial Board (PB) member and former city councilor Edgar Cabanlas said green is the color of success and change while City Councilor Eric Salcedo of Cagayan de Oro's 2nd district looked good in his double XL green shirt. Salcedo said green is the color of the future.

Team OKKA attended a Mass st the St. Augustine's Cathedral that was attended by 2,000 people, mostly families, friends and supporters. Chief Insp. Julius Clark Macaralio said they initially pegged the number at 6,000.

The complete state of Team OKKA are Oscar Moreno for mayor, Joaquin Uy for vice mayor. Congressman Rolando Uy for the first district and Alam Lim for the second district.

The council lineup for the first district consists of Zaldy Ocon, Jay Roa Pascual, Romeo Caluzo Edna I Day Dahino, Reuben Daba, Georgo Goking, Jun Daba and Roger Abaday. 

The council lineup for the second district is Malou Gaane, Suzette Magtajas, Ian Mark Nacaya, Eric Salcedo, Teodolfo Bong Lao, Ed Cabanlas, Andrew Melliza and Gerlie Balaba. 

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments