26.1 C
Cagayan de Oro
Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeFront PageMilitary honor for 37 soldiers killed in Sulu plane crash

Military honor for 37 soldiers killed in Sulu plane crash

CAMP EVANGELISTA, Cagayan de Oro City: Thirty-seven soldiers who died in the ill-fated C-130 that crashed in Patikul, Sulu would be accorded military honor, the 4ID Public Affairs Office (PAO) announced Wednesday.

Maj. Francisco P. Garello, Jr., acting PAO chief, said that the 4ID and other service units of the Armed Forces of fhe Philippines (AFP) would extend the traditional military honors to all fallen soldiers on their arrival in their respective home provinces.

The military honor was in recognition of their patriotism, sacrifices and service to the country, Garello said.

To recall, the C130 Hercules cargo plane of the Philippine Air Force (PAF) was transporting Army and Air Force personnel from Laguindingan Airport when the aircraft crashed in Bangkal, Patikul, Sulu on July 4, 2021.

The flight manifest recorded 96 passengers on board the C130 aircraft, composed of 84 Army personnel and 12 Air Force personnel, Garello said.

He said that 44 were Privates who recently graduated from the Candidate Soldier Training while 40 others were Non-Commissioned Officers who volunteered to be assigned with the 11th Infantry Division in Sulu.

MGen Romeo S Brawner Jr, the newly installed 4ID Commander, said that of the 84 Army personnel, 47 survived.

However, out of the 37 personnel who perished, only seven personnel were identified as of Wednesday, Brawner said.

“We already provided the dental records of the fallen soldiers to help fast track the identification of the other 30 cadavers, Brawner said.

Brawner also assured the families of the fallen heroes as well as those who were injured of update on developments about the status of their loved ones.

“We acknowledge the worries of the family members and the pain of losing a loved one,” Brawner said.

The 37 fatalities from the Army came from the following provinces:

Agusan del Norte – 2
Agusan del Sur – 5
Bukidnon – 5
Camarines Sur – 1
Camiguin – 1
Lanao del Norte – 2
Misamis Oriental – 3
Misamis Occidental – 1
North Cotabato – 1
Panabo City – 1
Sulu – 3
Surigao del Norte – 1
Surigao del Sur – 1
Tawi-tawi – 1
Zamboanga Sibugay – 1
Zamboanga City – 2
Zamboanga Del Sur – 6. -0-

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments