29.5 C
Cagayan de Oro
Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeFront PageBreaking NewsBARMM bill seeks to rename Sultan Mastura municipality to Subpangen

BARMM bill seeks to rename Sultan Mastura municipality to Subpangen

COTABATO CITY — A measure has been filed in the Bangsamoro Parliament seeking to rename the municipality of Sultan Mastura to Subpangen in Maguindanao del Norte.
Deputy Speaker Atty. Lanang Ali Jr. authored BTA Parliament Bill No. 284, which proposes changing the municipality’s name.
Sultan Mastura, established through the enactment of MMA Act No. 89, operates independently with its mayor, vice mayor, and eight members of the Sangguniang Bayan appointed by the regional governor after the act’s ratification.
It consists of 13 barangays such as Balut, Boliok, Bongabong, Dagurungan, Kirkir, Macabiso, Namuken, Simuay Seashore, Solon, Tambo, Tapayan, Tarikan, and Tuka, with its seat of government located in Barangay Tapayan.
As of the latest data from the Philippine Statistics Authority, Sultan Mastura is home to 25,331 residents.
The renaming proposal will trigger a plebiscite, to be supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), providing residents with the opportunity to express their views and participate in the decision-making process.
Co-authors of the bill are MPs Engr. Aida Silongan, Abdullah Hashim, Eddie Alih, Bailen Mantawil, Mosber Alauddin, Mudjib Abu, Mohammad Kelie Antao, Sowaib Oranon, Ibrahim Ali, and Tawakal Midtimbang. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)


Most Popular

Recent Comments