RPOC-10 defines agencies roles in ending armed conflict

April 16, 2019


CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, --To attain inclusive and sustainable peace, the Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC)-10 mapped out the roles and functions of key agencies of the Regional Task Force on Ending Local Communist Armed Conflict (RTF-ELCAC)-10 in an organizational meeting on April 11, here. 

"The RTF-ELCAC shall oversee and coordinate the implementation of the Convergence Areas for Peace and Development program as the enabling mechanism to operationalize Executive Order No. 70 (s. 2018) in Region 10," said Regional Director Mylah Faye Aurora Cariño of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA)-10.

The Regional Task Force Sub-Clusters of Capacity Develoment (CapDev) themes  include Peace building and reconciliation, Good Governance and Institution Building, and Socio Economic Transformation.

The first theme focuses on the identification and implementation of programs designed to address the root causes of conflict and the grievance of the past, and promotion of long term stability and justice. Members of such sub-cluster will monitor and enforce agreements, and promote peace dialogues, local peace agenda and conversations among stakeholders.

Good Governance and Institution Building sub-cluster will implement institutional mechanisms for sustained results, promote accountability and transparency, and promote people participation and partnership.

The third sub-cluster will coordinate and mobilize both social and economic interventions, and provide social and economic interventions based on their organic mandates that complement the local government unit (LGU) services.

To actualize such roles, the RTF-ELCAC will prepare the community profile or date as well as generate the community needs. CapDev monitoring indicators will also be mainstreamed

Furthermore, the task force will prepare the convergence action plan, and consult with the national line agencies concerned for committed programs and projects fir the CapDev communities.

Cariño said the creation of the task force does not require the agencies to formulate new programs or services as it will only guide the agencies on where they could further strengthen and boost the impact of their programs.  

As per EO 70, the key members of the task force include the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), National Economic and Developmpent Authority (NEDA), Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Philippine National Police (PNP), Department of Justice (DOJ), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Budget and Management (DBM), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR).

The task force is also consists of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of Education (Deped), National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda), Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP), National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) and Philippine Information Agency (PIA). 

The two private sectors of RTF-ELCAC include the Archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro (ACDO) and the Balay Mindanaw Foundation Inc. (BMFI)

To further strengthen the scope and functions of the task force, RPOC-10 added the Department of Health (DOH), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), and Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE).



Subscribe Now!

Receive email updates from Mindanao Daily News.